Skip to content

BC Vegan Wines

Whether you’re vegan or vegetarian, like to purchase locally produced wines, or are just interested in trying out new vintages, here is a handy directory of wines produced in British Columbia that are vegan.

Note: The month and year the producer’s vegan status was confirmed follows the name in parenthesis.

100% Vegan

Blasted Church Vineyards (Sept. 2008)

Blossom Winery (Jan. 2009)

Church and State Wines (Dec. 2008; Vegan since 2005 vintages)

D’Angelo Estate Winery and B&B (in Penticton, BC) (April 2010)

Edge of the Earth Vineyards (promoted as a vegan winery) (April 2010)

Elephant Island Orchard Wines (April 2010)

GlenterraVineyards (Feb. 2010)

Jackson Triggs Okanagan Estate (Dec. 2008)

Joie Wines (Dec. 2008)

Lotus Land Vineyards (Dec. 2010)

Rollingdale Winery (Jan. 2009)

Rustic Roots Winery (Jan. 2009)

St Urban Winery (Jan. 2009)

Summerhill Pyramid Winery (Jan. 2009)

The View Winery (Jan. 2009)

Vegan-Friendly

Gabriola Island Winery (Feb. 2009)
(Only their whites are vegan. Egg white may or may not be used in their reds)

Forbidden Fruit Winery (April 2010)
(Most of their wines are vegan and use certified organic fruit. The only non-vegan exception is the Ice Lady Mistelle, which includes honey)

Fox Trot Vineyards (April 2010)
(Although some of their vintages have been vegan, like the 2006 & 2007 Pinot Noir, as well as some vintages of their Chardonnay, they do use eggwhites in some of their wines. Future vintages may or maynot include animal ingredients, so check with the winery on specific vintages)

Inniskillin Okanagan Vineyards (Dec. 2008)
(Only their reds are vegan. Milk is used in their whites and ice wines)

Larch Hills Winery (April 2010)
(Only their whites are vegan. They use egg whites in their red wines)

Marichel Winery (April 2010)
(Depending on the wine and vintage, they occasionally use egg whites or gelatin for fining. All of the wines produced in 2010 will be vegan, according to proprietor Richard Roskell)

Vista D’Oro Winery (Jan. 2009)
(New winery. Only two releases in 2007: 2007 D’oro and 2007 Pinot Noir. Both are vegan, though check with winery on future vintages, as they could start using animal ingredients. 2007 Pinot Noir contains Cabernet from France, so not 100% local)

Not Vegan-Friendly*

Calona Vineyards
(cannot guarantee animal products won’t be used at any point)

Gray Monk Estate Winery
(use egg whites in reds, gelatin in most whites)

Paradise Ranch Wines
(uses gelatin and isinglass in their wines)

Quails’ Gate Estate Winery
(producing since 1991; only 2007 and 2008 vintages are said to be vegan, though they cannot guarantee animal products will not be used in future vintages. See the comments section below for details)

Sandhill Wines
(cannot guarantee animal products won’t be used at any point)

Tantalus Vineyards
(states that animal products not used in any wines, though 2007 Pinot Noir used egg whites. Cannot guarantee animal products will not be used in future vintages)

*What makes a wine not vegan?

In the process of producing a wine, many producers use fining agents that help to clarify their final product. Some of these fining agents include isinglass (fish swimbladders), casein (from the stomachs of calves), egg whites, gelatin, chitosan (i.e. from shrimp shells), milk, and blood. Other wine producers use products such as compressed paper, clay, and other plant-based and alternative fining agents that don’t require the use of animal-derived ingredients. These animal-based fining agents are also used in many beers (with the exception of some German beers).

Note that not all organic wines are vegan

Some organic wine producers do use some animal ingredients in their wines. The use of caesin, isinglass, egg whites, and milk are acceptable according to Canadian federal organic production standards. Also, not all bio-dynamic wines are vegan. Some bio-dynamic preparation practices include the use of animal’s body parts, such as bovine horns.

For a comprehensive list of vegan wines, beers, and other alcohol from around the world, visit Barnivore and the Vegan Wine Guide.

Page last updated: December 6th, 2010.

Advertisements
13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 9:45 pm

    Fantastic! Thank you so much for this list! I’ve been looking on http://www.barnivore.com, but cross-referencing the vegan-ness with the location of the winery seemed daunting. So thanks for putting the work in for me!

  2. Alexandra Jones permalink
    September 8, 2009 4:14 pm

    Thanks so much for the information! A couple of these listings came as a surprise to me, namely Summerhill and Quail’s Gate. I visited both wineries last summer and specificially asked if their wines were vegan. At Summerhill I was told that all their wines are fined using egg whites, and at Quail’s Gate I was told that all their wines are vegan. I’ve just sent emails to both wineries to see if they can confirm whether or not their wines use animal products. Whatever they say, though, I am now wondering how much we can really trust the information.

  3. Alexandra Jones permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:29 am

    So just a follow-up regarding my inquiries to Quail’s Gate and Summerhill wineries. I received a reply from the winemaker at Summerhill who says that he never uses animal based fining ingredients in any of their wines. The reply I got from Quail’s Gate just today said the following:

    Unfortunately, the Epicur Vegan website has been mis informed in regards to the production of our wines as almost all the past vintages at Quails’ Gate have been 100% vegan including the 2007 and 2008 vintages. (currently in circulation) Although vegan wine production can not be guaranteed every year it is something that we strive towards and so far have been able to maintain.

    So, um, I guess that means that Quail’s Gate wines are “almost” always vegan friendly, but we can never really know for sure? LOL

    By the way, one resource I recently discovered (which could be of some help, at least, to anyone with an iPhone or iPod Touch) is an application called Vegan Xpress, which lists what items are vegan at a large number of chain restaurants, which junk food items are vegan (not helpful to me since I don’t generally eat that stuff, but hey, it’s nice to know), and also includes a list of vegan wines and beers. It’s easier to use than Barnivore because it only lists booze that *is* vegan, as opposed to having to scroll through and check each item one by one. I do wish it listed wines by country of origin, as it would make it easier to find them in the liquor store, but if worst comes to worst I’m sure the liquor store staff could help with that.

    And the more I think about this, the more I think it would be great fun to have a vegan wine-tasting club in Vancouver!

  4. nestandsparkle permalink
    March 28, 2010 8:09 am

    I am a vegetarian (and flexi-tarian when it comes to sustainable seafood) and starting to bring more vegan into my lifestyle. Delighted to find your site and I had NO IDEA that animal products are used in some wines. Thank you for this information! I will make wiser choices because of it.

  5. March 28, 2010 9:47 am

    Yeah, I have to admit I was quite surprised when I first became interested in wine to find out such gross ingredients were being used, mostly just for the “clarity” of the wines.

    There are other fabulous sites out there with more information on vegan wines, beers, and liquors. There’s Barnivore and Vegans are from Mars.

    I think there’s also a couple of iPhone apps as well, if you have an iPhone.

    There are some pretty great vegan wines out there, and I’m sure you’ll have a great time “testing” them all 🙂

  6. December 23, 2011 11:14 am

    thank you for sharing!! sorry to hear about tantalus’ wine, but the safe list is quality and comprehensive. i was surprised and saddened to hear about fish bladders to clarify beers, so unfiltered wheats seem to be the way to go. do you have a vegan beer list, by chance? otherwise, we must be curious to be informed! thanks again and be well! Kelly

  7. February 14, 2012 5:09 am

    Although all organic wine is not vegan, you’re most likely to see correctly labelled vegan wines which are grown organically rather than conventionally. I’ve found that I can find the best selection online – my local wine shop is useless when it comes to vegan wines.

  8. Michael permalink
    March 21, 2012 8:40 am

    Good dat all,

    I just got an officia reply from Jackson Triggs confirming that they ARE NOT making even vegan friendly wine.

    21 March 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us at Jackson Triggs Consumer
    Relations. We appreciate hearing from you!

    Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis to optimize the quality. Some
    fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents
    are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable
    by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin
    it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.

    All of our fining agents are government approved. One of our standard
    fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk
    protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components.

    I hope the information we have provided is helpful. We appreciate your
    interest in Jackson Triggs, and look forward to serving you as a valued
    customer.

    If I may be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me
    at 1-800-836-9463 Ext. 35702, Monday through Friday, 9:00am – 5:00pm
    Eastern Time.

    Sincerely,

    April Stewart
    Consumer Relations Representative
    Jackson Triggs

    Reference # 310903

  9. May 5, 2012 5:59 am

    Please add Pacific Breeze Winery to the list of 100% vegan wineries. All their red and whites are vegan friendly. Pacific Breeze is located in New Westminster, Stewardson Way, close to the New Westminster Quay.
    They don’t sell through the liquor store but are available in many beer and wine stores and from the winery itself.
    Enjoy!

  10. Tuija Roman permalink
    August 24, 2017 6:56 pm

    Any information on Vintage Ink wine (from Okanagan)?

Trackbacks

  1. A Modern Big Mac, Alicia Silverstone’s Vegan Treats On Jimmy Fallon & 7 More Treasures | SweetOnVeg.com
  2. BC Vegan Wines (via Epicurvegan) « Become the Voice
  3. Drinking Fail and Vegan Wine Review | Hot Raw Mess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: