Skip to content

Avoiding temptation on an anti-candida diet

June 26, 2011

So, if you’re thinking of starting an anti-candida diet, where do you start?

For me, I understand my own vices well enough to know that embarking on an anti-candida diet means getting rid of every temptation hiding in my kitchen. Once that first sugar craving takes hold, I know I’ll be searching for any little sweet morsel I can find. I’ll pace the kitchen floor, opening and reopening the cabinets and fridge in the hope that something’s been overlooked by my obsessive gaze.

Since I’ve given myself a week to prepare for this huge change, I decided this weekend would be the best time to clear my kitchen of everything I won’t be able to eat for the next three months, or ever again. What did or didn’t make the cut was based on these food lists, which means a lot of jam jars, vinegars, flours, sauces, dried fruits, and other prepackaged items were shown the door to another home where they’ll be enjoyed just as much as I would have enjoyed them.

Sometime this week I’ll march over to one of my favourite independent grocery stores armed with a much different kind of grocery list than I’m used to. I’ll restock my kitchen with a new items like roasted carob powder, buckwheat flour, and besan flour that, over the next three months, will go a long way in keeping the bellies around my house pleasantly filled, healthy, and happy. You see, I’m not the only one in the house going on this new diet, and I have some pretty hefty expectations to please.

Having a well-stocked kitchen, and plenty of good recipes in my cooking arsenal, will mean I’ll be far less likely to be found weeping over a pile of cookbooks. (Yes, this has happened before.) My hope is that being well-prepared and having lots of creative food options available will help keep me upbeat about what seems like a very long road ahead.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 9:33 am

    I am looking forward to reading about the changes in your diet.Sugar would be so hard!! Good luck and keep us posted.

  2. June 26, 2011 9:39 am

    Thanks, Tanya. Believe it or not, as much as I love sugar I’ve found it much harder to give up gluten. But, I think being well prepared with lots of ideas for gluten-free breads might make this whole adventure a little more bearable.

  3. June 27, 2011 9:57 am

    There is a wonderful bakery called Sami’s Bakery located in Florida that you can order from online that makes gf breads, buns, and lavashs(tortilla wraps) made without yeast or sugar. I order from them for my son and have recommended them to some friends. They make the best gf tasting products we’ve ever had! I’m sure you’ll do fine with this new change in your diet and can’t wait to see what you make!

  4. June 27, 2011 4:57 pm

    Thanks for the tip, JoLynn! I might check them out once I can reintroduce most grains back into my diet.

Leave a Reply

