Skip to content

Edible Flours Grand Opening

April 16, 2011

Vancouver’s first all-vegan retail bakery has finally opened it’s doors to the hordes of hungry vegans and non-vegans that have been waiting weeks for a taste of their fine treats.

And, as threatened promised, I was the first one to show up this morning, and I did indeed press my face to the glass as I patiently waited for 10 a.m. to come along.

Let me assure you, the bakery’s treats are as good as they look in the following photos. And, if you happen to be in or around Vancouver, you’d be well advised to get yourself there as fast as you can. If you so desire, they have decently priced coffee and tea available, as well as agave to sweeten the whole deal.

Edible Flours Natural Vegan Bakery
2280 West Broadway, between Vine Street and Yew Street
Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Sunday 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Inside Edible Flours

Inside Edible Flours - Entrance and bakery counter

Inside Edible Flours - Seating area

Inside Edible Flours - Seating area

Bakery case - Edible Flours

The bakery case

Edible Flours chocolates by Chocolate Arts

Edible Flours chocolates by Chocolate Arts

The take home box

The take home box

The booty!

The booty!

Chocolate and vanilla maple-glazed donuts (not gluten-free)

Chocolate and vanilla maple-glazed donuts (not gluten-free)

Strawberry scone (not gluten free)

Strawberry scone (not gluten-free)

Basic chocolate cupcake (front; not gluten-free)

Basic chocolate cupcake (front; not gluten-free)

Gluten-free cupcakes (vanilla, right; chocolate, left)

Gluten-free cupcakes (vanilla, right; chocolate, left)

Cookies, from left: thumbprint cookie, gluten-free chocolate chip, (back) oatmeal-raisin.

Cookies, from left: thumbprint cookie, gluten-free chocolate chip, (back) oatmeal-raisin

Chocolates (front: chai crisp; back left: raspberry truffle; back right: peanut butter)

Chocolates (front: chai crisp; back left: raspberry truffle; back right: peanut butter)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 16, 2011 2:53 pm

    Incredible!! Melt in your mouth cookies, light,fluffy donuts and melt in your mouth muffins!! Need I say more? You don’t know what you’re missing!! :o)

  2. Gabrielle permalink
    April 16, 2011 3:20 pm

    OMG! They are so cute/swank! Yay, I can’t wait!

  3. April 17, 2011 6:52 am

    This treats look scrumptious, if only I weren’t 4000 miles away, I think I would be here everyday!

  4. tanya permalink
    April 17, 2011 11:01 am

    I will be in Vancouver in October.I can’t wait to go here!! Thanks for sharing and thanks for the sharing the BC Wines:)

  5. Andy permalink
    April 18, 2011 5:44 am

    Store (and food) look great! Do you deliver to New York??

  6. April 18, 2011 12:15 pm

    yum-yum.

    can’t wait for my next visit…

  7. May 3, 2011 3:00 pm

    i totally ate an entire of box of “give me some of everything”… by myself… very tasty!

  8. organicalistic permalink
    May 7, 2011 10:48 am

    What are those chairs and that couch made of? That couch looks like leather, and the chairs wool?

  9. May 9, 2011 11:48 am

    Organicalistic: It seems it’s escaped your notice that I have, in fact, been to the bakery, and I can attest to the obviously vegan nature of the furniture. But I’m guessing concern for the couch and chairs wasn’t really the intent behind your comment anyway.

    Now, how about those delicious looking cupcakes? There’s something to be excited about.

  10. May 9, 2011 11:54 am

    Paul: I was shamless when I went there the first time. I actually said, “Give me one of everything!” and that’s exactly what Paul (you know, Ali’s husband) did without batting an eyelash. What was slightly embarassing was that he knew exactly who I was though I’d never met him before. I’m hoping that’s merely because of my enthusiasm and not because I’m making any sort of fool of myself 🙂

  11. May 9, 2011 12:00 pm

    Rebecca: So, when might that visit be, eh? 🙂

  12. May 9, 2011 12:02 pm

    Andy: You could ask the bakery owners if they deliver, as I can’t speak for them personally.

  13. May 9, 2011 12:03 pm

    You’re welcome, Tanya! I hope you have an amazing visit 🙂

  14. May 10, 2011 4:11 pm

    These all look so tasty! It’s fantastic to see so many new vegan-only shops opening all over the world.. I can’t wait till I’m near a place like this!

  15. May 10, 2011 8:26 pm

    I have heard so many great things about this bakery but haven’t yet been able to visit. After seeing those pictures I am making it my number one priority! Wow can’t wait to try those donuts!

Leave a Reply

