Skip to content

Vegan Food Friday: Feelin’ Soupy

March 11, 2011
BBQ Lentil and Baked Sweet Potato Soup

BBQ Lentil & Baked Sweet Potato Soup by sweetbeetandgreenbean - Flickr CC-A licensed

Preface:  I started writing this post a few days ago, before the earthquake in Japan happened last night.  My focus on soup feels trivial compared to the devastation in Japan, and my tummy’s all in knots thinking about everyone affected by the disaster and those people in areas still under tsunami warnings.  Living in an earthquake zone, almost daily I am reminded that the “big one”, like the earthquake in Japan, could hit.  I have a lot of latent fear about an earthquake as big as Japan’s happening here because it’s not a question of if, but when.  My heart goes out to everyone who’s been impacted by the earthquake.  If you’d like to help out, in any way you can, aid organizations to contact are the Canadian Red Cross, Doctors Without Borders, the American Red Cross, Animal Refuge Kansai, Okanawan-American Animal Rescue SocietyHuman Society of the United States, and the SPCA International.

* * * * * * * * * *

After the bake sale craziness of the last few days (hence my absence here), I have become just as much of a puddin’ as some of the cookies I made.  Mind you, it’s not any of the weight gain that bothers me.  Rather, it’s that my tummy is mighty upset with me and I really need a break from all the sugar.

It’s rare that I actually crave soup.  I’ve never been much of a fan of the stuff.  I need substance in my food so that I’m not still hungry after I eat, which is what many soups leave me feeling – hungry.  But since I’ve been treating my stomach like a bit of a trash can the last several days, I’m desperately craving simple, wholesome foods like soups and salads.  Because I know so many people who love soup, I thought a recipe round-up of nourishing, hearty soups would be perfect for everyone.

GF = gluten-free

BBQ Lentil and Baked Sweet Potato Soup  (GF)

Rustic Winter Stew with Polenta  (GF)

Green Curry Butternut Squash Bisque  (GF)

Simple Vegan Laksa  (GF)

Vegan Solyanka

Roasted Broccotato Soup with Chickpea Croutons

Ch’eitan Noodle Soup

Vegan Goulash with Portobello Mushrooms  (GF)

Vegan Menudo

Thai Mushroom Soup

Caribbean Sweet Corn Soup  (GF)

Balkh Brown Lentil Soup  (GF)

Dutch Mustard Soup  (GF)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 11, 2011 10:18 am

    tsk, tsk!! What about Black Bean Vegetable soup?!!

  2. March 11, 2011 10:28 am

    Silly 🙂 It’s listed in my recipe index. This is about finding *more* yummy soups like that one.

  3. March 12, 2011 9:39 am

    I think your blog is awesome and that’s why I’m giving you a ‘Stylish Blogger Award’ – Yeah for you! Head over to my blog to find out what to do next. You totally deserve it.

    Gretchen

Leave a Reply

