Skip to content

The Vegan Spoon dishes again

February 28, 2011
Veganized Huevas Rancheras - Bandidas Taqeria

Veganized Huevas Rancheras from Bandidas Taqeria, reviewed on The Vegan Spoon

Ab0ut two years ago when I was planning my very first trip to PDX, I stumbled upon The Stumptown Vegans blog, which for me has become the holy grail of what to eat in Portland.  It’s the first place I always go when I want to make sure I know exactly where to go to get the best food in the Portland area (and that I’m going in the right direction to said food).

I came back from my trip to PDX inspired with the idea that Vancouver really needed something like The Stumptown Vegans blog.  One of my biggest complaints about eating out is always that no matter where I go there’s plenty of places to eat, but there are very few places that actually serve a decent vegan breakfast on weekdays.  Or, there might be a lot of them, but I just don’t know how to find out about them.  Portland has a lot of great vegan breakfast and brunch options, both on the weekends and on weekdays.  This can’t be said for a lot of other places I’ve been, Vancouver included.  If I could create a site where people could get this kind of information, perhaps I would be able to make it easier for them to find out about some really great places to eat.  It’s also a really great excuse to eat more vegan food. Win! 

Here’s a bit of a back story: a previous trip to Seattle in the fall of 2008 ended up in several navigational snafus, the worst being ending up on the opposite side of town than I wanted to be, very hungry, very cold, and very frustrated by my misunderstanding of how the streets in the city were laid out.  Through a review I’d found on a blog, I’d had my heart set on visiting a particular restaurant.  I set off, searched for an hour and a half only to find out that the review neglected to mention the restaurant was on the east side of the city, not the west side.

Fast forward to the spring of 2009 when, in a tiny Portland hotel room, The Vegan Spoon was born.  Obviously, with the greatness that is The Stumptown Vegans, I had some pretty high aspirations for The Vegan Spoon, as well as the feeling that I had some pretty big (vegan) shoes to fill.  I planned, I took pictures, and I started compiling drafts of future Vegan Spoon reviews.  The site launched at the start of VeganMoFo III, and I foolishly thought that I would be able to keep up with posting almost every day on *two* blogs for a month.  Well, it didn’t happen.  And if you’ve ever been a part of the fantastic craziness that is Vegan MoFo, you’ll know it’s pretty easy to burn out on blogging.  Doubly so if you’re posting on two blogs (I really don’t know how the MoFo Round Up Squad does this).

Over the last two years, I’ve failed miserably in keeping up The Vegan Spoon blog.  It’s never come close to being what I thought it could be, mostly because it seemed like a really huge project to take on and I felt stretched too thin in other places.  However, with the recent announcements about Edible Flours and Nice Shoes, the awesomeness that could be the Vancouver vegan scene inspired me to jump back into The Vegan Spoon with the honest intention of really keeping it up this time.  Easing the perceived pressure on myself by taking this on means not posting as often as I want to both here and on The Vegan Spoon.  I need to take ‘er steady, you know?

So, hold on to your lunch bags kids ‘cause The Vegan Spoon’s back, and we’ve got a lotta greasy spoons to dish out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 3:57 pm

    oh very cool – can’t wait to read!

Leave a Reply

