Skip to content

Bakerella’s Oreo kisses, veganized

February 25, 2011

Kisses - up closeThis week, Food Friday’s taking a break, mostly because I’ve been busy and I got nuthin’.  But!  Here I bring you another thing that I made for Valentine’s Day: Oreo kisses by Bakerella.

Of course, I can’t post a veganized recipe because the original recipe calls for only three ingredients.  What I did differently with mine was that I subbed Tofutti cream cheese, used Country Choice sandwich cremes instead of Oreos, and used Vivani’s bittersweet baking chocolate.  And I had to make adjustments to the amounts since I really have no idea how many cookies are in half a package of Oreos.  And this is probably a very good thing too.

Mine didn’t turn out as nicely as hers.  Somehow, my chocolate didn’t set on the outside of the quite the way it should have, and twisting the tin foil around them wasn’t quite as easy as I thought it would be.  But what the hey – they would be quickly devoured anyway, so it didn’t really matter that they didn’t look perfect.  And I’m told they were quite tasty.

Aside from making these into kisses, imagine how these would be wrapped inside the centre of a cake pop.  What about making them into buckeye balls?  And I think a lighter variation on the cookie filling of these kisses would be amazing in the middle of some bite-sized whoopie pies.

We could get into some seriously yummy trouble here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 6:48 am

    oh yum. so much yum…

  2. Mom permalink
    February 26, 2011 7:49 am

    I got them for V day and I’ve gotta tell you they were scrumptious!! It was quite a struggle trying to stretch them out instead of munching them all at once!!

Leave a Reply

