Skip to content

Book Worm

January 27, 2011
Vancouver Public Library - Central Branch - Foyer

Vancouver Public Library - Central Branch Photo by Difei Li - Flickr CCA-lisenced

Sometime around the end of last year, I decided that I should read more good books.  By “good” I mean books with stories that have me so galvanized I obsess about when I’ll have another couple of minutes to savour a few pages.

This need to read more started when I bought a copy of Stephen King’s Under the Dome to give as a Christmas gift in 2009.  (Disappointingly, I still haven’t read it.)

Then I came across memes on Facebook based on the BBC’s The Big Read and thought, “I really should get on that.”  (I suppose I could be accused of being a bit of an anglophile since I majored in English in university, though I do very much love a good Russian translation.)

Recently, reading reviews of books read by friends made me crave the indulgence of escaping into another world and stop wasting my time watching stupid movies on Dusk TV (though I fully intend to keep up my Doctor Who obsession.)  (Hmmm.  There’s that anglophilia again.)

It’s been a while since I borrowed books from the library, so yes, it was a bit of a revelation to me that I could read almost anything I wanted to read and not spend a penny.  (As long as I return everything on time, that is.)  A visit the other day was a bit frustrating since almost every copy of Hawking’s A Brief History of Time was listed as stolen, not one H.P Lovecraft novel was to be found, and I came up empty-handed searching for a copy of Neil Gaiman’s Smoke and Mirrors.  (I ended up with American Gods instead, which I’m having a hard time liking despite what seemed like a really promising threads of Norse mythology and 21st century “god-like” technology.  Perhaps I’ll read it another time.)

So I decided to start with some of the books on the BBC’s The Big Read.  There’s really 200 books on the list, 35 of which I have already read, and several of which are some of my most favourite books.  (Here’s the link to the page where I’ve created my list.)

I have no intention of reading Cabot’s The Princess Diaries (really, seeing the movie didn’t make me want to read a more in-depth story), and I’ve watched The Godfather, Gone with the Wind, and Clan of the Cave Bear too many times to want to spend even more time reading the books.  So I’ll just read more Lovecraft instead.  And I’ll throw in some Victorian and Romantic literary Gothic too.  (Poe!  I must read some more Poe!)

With so many choices, what to go with first?  I think I might start with Perfume: the Story of a Murder by Patrick Süskind (the movie was amazing!) and The Name of The Rose by Umberto Eco (also made into a movie when I was seven, my brief glimpses of Sean Connery’s character had me sold on reading the book as an adult.)

And what would enjoying delicious books be without equally delicious gluten-free scones from Get it Ripe from Around Here?  Yum!  Happy reading! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 1:59 pm

    oooh! booksbooksbooks.

    really enjoyed “Perfume” – hated the movie – the book is far more interesting, the characters are better developed and he goes into great description of how perfumes are made and how scents captured. only book i’ve ever read where smell is the most important sense.

    am i reading your book list correctly? you’ve never read “The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy”?! listen to the radio play, read the book, read all five books in the trilogy – you will love them. then, you can celebrate “Towel Day” with the rest of us…as an anglophile, if you haven’t read these books, you are missing out. run, don’t walk.

    and don’t panic.

  2. January 27, 2011 2:31 pm

    Hah! Becca, I so knew you were going to question me on the Hitchhiker. Like I mentioned before, I tried a few times to watch the movie, and I hated it. If you will read The Master and Margarita, I will read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, deal?

  3. January 28, 2011 2:07 pm

    deal.

    created a new page on the blog called “To read – book list” and The Master and Margarita is first on the list.

    it may have to wait ’til i get back, so i hope that is ok. i’ll look for a copy out there.

  4. February 14, 2011 9:35 am

    Taking a chance that since we share a Dr. Who fondness you might also enjoy my favorite read of the last few years. Jump on the band wagon and give “The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo” a read. And for that irritating habit of failing to return books on time may I recomend shopping your library’s second hand sale. In our resale shop no book is priced over $2! Happy reading.

  5. February 14, 2011 10:17 am

    Thanks for the suggestion, Jane! One of these days I will check out the book – I’ll add it to my neverending list of to-reads 🙂

Leave a Reply

