Skip to content

A Gluten-free Message in a Bottle

January 19, 2011
tags:
"Message in a Bottle" by Kraftwerck on Flickr (CC-A liscenced)

"Message in a Bottle"-by Kraftwerck-Flickr CC-A liscenced

When I started thinking of this post, Message in a Bottle by The Police immediately started on repeat in my head.  (Funny, songs appropriate to melodramatic moments often do that for me.  It’s kinda like having my own traveling gong-show in my head.)

Last week, a few things in my life seemed to be on their way to colliding into a dietary train wreck.  Today, well, I’m sending out a bit of an SOS.

Imagine taking on the challenge of being sugar-free, gluten-free, and yeast-free while also eating a diet that is thyroid-friendly (plenty of iodine), high in iron (to correct anemia), and low in foods that cause acid-reflux. Oh, and caffeine and alcohol are off the table too. 

What the heck would you eat???

As a vegan, not for one moment have I ever felt deprived of choices about what to eat.  There’s an amazing bounty of foods to be had.  But when you have to cut out even some of the most healthy foods (I mean, come on!  Blueberries contribute to acid reflux?!?), what’s left to enjoy?

So here’s me tossing my message in a bottle to all you gals and guys: send me all your gluten-free lovelies.  Show me the way to gluten-free bliss.  Give me your recipes, ideas, thoughts, anything gluten-free and vegan-friendly.  And easy gets bonus brownie points too!

In the meantime, I’ll get down to my own sleuthing and (im)patiently wait for Kittee’s new xgfx zine.  There’s gonna be serious bagel making when I get my hands on her pumpkin bagels recipe.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 4:20 pm

    Ugh. I’m so sorry.

    Do you read this blog: http://www.dietdessertndogs.com/ ? I highly recommend it! Ricki has great gluten-free recipes and great health information

  2. January 20, 2011 9:14 am

    Hey JL:

    Thanks so much for the suggestion! I will definitely check out her blog. I’ll take all the inspiration I can get.

    And not all of this is forever – well, the sugar and the yeast might be, but it really could be worse. Indulging maybe once in a while – a cupcake, a seitan sausage, and freshly baked yeast bread, though not all at once – will probably be okay. I think. And it’s probably better for me at the moment anyway. What a kick in the pants to start eating better, eh? 🙂

  3. January 20, 2011 11:04 am

    Sorry to hear about your diet problems. Try and look into raw vegan diets.

  4. January 20, 2011 11:39 am

    Vegantickles:

    Thanks for the suggestion! I’ve done a lot of reading on raw diets and I really like raw food, so I think I’ll be eating a little more of it. It turns out, however, that raw cruciferous veggies – like kale, broccoli, and cauliflower – are a no-no for me since they have phytochemicals that have a goitrogenic effect in people with thyroid disease (they interfere with thryoid function and and prevent iodine absorption, leading to the development of a goiter.) So I’ll have to eat those veggies cooked. But that’s not to say I can’t enjoy other raw goodies 🙂

  5. Heidi permalink
    January 24, 2011 9:41 am

    Chickpea flour is a great “gluten free “baking flour. Doesn’t require any weird additives ie. “the gums”. It’s high in protein too which is always a plus. Although to get the same “rise” out of your baking you may need “the gums” but I’ve not missed it.

    I’m really liking “the quotes” today.

  6. February 17, 2011 9:53 pm

    Hey! So I don’t eat gluten myself–or not wheat, anyway–so we use a ton of gluten-free stuff. I can recommend in particular Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour, which (so far) has been perfect for cookies and cake. They taste exactly like “normal” wheat-based baked goods. You just need to remember to add xanthan gum.

    We also made a couple of amazing pizzas with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix. There’s a blog post about it here if you want to see how we used it: http://liberationbc.org/blog/2010/10/allergen-free-vegan-pizza/

  7. February 18, 2011 8:15 am

    Hey Becci! It’s very nice to hear from you. I’m glad you mentioned Bob’s Red Mill – I’ve been eyeing them every time I’m in a store that stocks them and I think I just may take the plunge. My challenege is that I need to be able to recreate some of my mister’s favourite things so that when I do put the final kibosh on wheat he doesn’t feel like he’s missing out on anything. My only issue with the pizza crust mix is that it comes with a packet of active yeast in it, and since I have a yeast intolerance (thank goodness that doesn’t include nooch) I can’t use yeast to make any yeasted breads. But it does occurr to me to try to experiment with baking soda and baking powder instead of yeast, so I can just toss the yeast packet and still use the mix. Thanks for the tip, and I’m on my way check out the blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

