Skip to content

Better than Vegenaise Mayo

January 17, 2011
Vegan Mayo - The Candle Cafe Cookbook

(click on photo for a larger view)

This one’s for you, Gabrielle!

Back when I was a lot more frugal than I am now, I discovered a vegan mayo recipe in The Candle Cafe Cookbook that was so good I was sure my days of paying $6 for a jar of Vegenaise were over.  Well, I’m just as lazy as the next hungry vegan and haven’t hesitated to pick up many jars since then.  If, unlike me, you plan ahead and don’t find yourself starving at the grocery store after work, grab some milk and give this mayo a whirl in your blender or food processor.  I’m sure you’ll love it just as much as Vegenaise, if not more, and you’ll have enough dollars in your pocket for some fancy pants yam fries to go with it.

If you don’t think you’ll be able to use up three cups of mayo in a week, this recipe is easily halved.

Ingredients

(recipe modified from The Candle Cafe Cookbook)

1 cup soy milk, plain and unsweetened (watch out for vanilla flavouring in your milk!)
2 1/2 cups extra virgin olive oil, or oil of your choice
1 to 1 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (seasoned sushi vinegar also lends a nice flavour)
1/2 tsp dry mustard
Fine sea salt, to taste

Optional Ingredients

finely minced fresh garlic; freshly ground black pepper; garlic and onion granules (or powder); lemon juice (in lieu of vinegar); smoked paprika; finely diced canned chipotle chile + 1-2 tsp adobo sauce (to taste); sriracha sauce; minced marinated sun dried tomatoes (well-drained)

Directions

Using a blender or small food processor, place your soy milk and, with the machine running, slowly drizzle in your oil until all the oil has been added and it has been thoroughly combined with the milk.  (If you have a blender, take off that little round bit in the lid to drizzle in the oil, or, if you have a food processor, drizzle the oil down the chute in to the bowl.)

You can blend the mixture until it’s a consistency you’re satisfied with, as it may thicken up a little if blended a little more after all the oil has been added.

Transfer the mayonnaise to a bowl and add the remaining ingredients, using a whisk to mix it well and thoroughly combine all the ingredients.

Keep in a tightly sealed jar in the refrigerator for up to one week.

Note: I’ve tried both rice and oat milk as alternatives to soy, without any success.  It seems that for this recipe these particular milks are both too thin and too low in fat to emulsify properly.  I haven’t tried almond or hemp milk, so if you want to give ’em a go, make a half recipe just in case you have to toss the whole thing.

Makes about 3 cups.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    January 17, 2011 7:27 pm

    Yeah!! Thank you so much, Nicole! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. January 17, 2011 10:09 pm

    What a great idea! I have tried many different store-bought vegan mayonnaises, including one made with miso, but the only one I truly love is the most expensive Vegenaise…The miso mayo is great, too, but it does not taste like mayo. Miso mayo makes a great sandwich topping, but it isn’t good for potato salads and other similar dishes.
    I cannot wait to try your homemade version since it will save me some money and maybe I will like it better, too. Thank you for posting the recipe. Can I make it with almond milk instead of soy milk? Have you tried other non dairy milks in this recipe?

  3. January 18, 2011 9:38 am

    Elisabeth:

    I haven’t tried almond milk, but it might work since it’s got a higher fat content than rice or oat milk. It might work.

    I’ve only tried soy, rice, and oat milks, and soy was the only one that worked well. When I used rice milk, the mayo was so liquidy that it wasn’t usable. As a last-ditch attempt to use it, I tried thickening it by heating it up in a pot and adding some tapioca starch. It sort of worked, but it would have been better to use corn starch since tapioca starch wasn’t “strong” enough to thicken the mayo to the right consistency.

    Apparently Vegenaise has come out with a soy-free version, though I haven’t seen it in stores yet. If I find it, I want to have a look at the ingredients to see what they used and how they might have thickened their new mayo.

  4. January 18, 2011 9:39 am

    You’re welcome, Gabrielle! We should get on top of making that nooch butter ASAP, yes? 🙂

  5. January 18, 2011 10:39 am

    Thank you! I will try it with almond milk and let you know what happens 🙂

  6. Kecily permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:16 am

    I think the reason why it only works with soy milk is not fat content. Look at how much oil you have in there. More than enough to whip up a mayo.
    I would say the reason is that the proteins in the soy milk have the ability to curdle (as in tofu or REAL soy yogurt with simply soy milk and ferment as the sole ingredients). This binds the sauce.

  7. January 19, 2011 8:43 am

    Kecily:

    Thanks for your comment. It really got me thinking more about this, and my comment ended up being so long that I thought I would just make a blog post about it. Keep an eye open for it and let me know what you think! 🙂

  8. Gabrielle permalink
    January 19, 2011 2:30 pm

    NOOCH BUTTER! It is happening asap. Will report back. We are geniuses.

  9. January 19, 2011 2:39 pm

    Anti-candida be damned! I’m doin’ it too. There’s gotta be some joy in life.

    We *are* geniuses – why hasn’t anyone sold this stuff yet???

  10. January 19, 2011 4:05 pm

    THANK YOU. I spend way too much money on Vegenaise.

  11. January 20, 2011 9:17 am

    You’re welcome, malloreigh! I don’t know when it became okay in my mind that paying $6 a jar on Vegenaise was okay. Somehow it did though. Probably ’cause it’s so tasty I could eat it by the spoonful! Anyway, enjoy! 🙂

  12. January 20, 2011 6:03 pm

    happy that you are posting again!
    this sounds so tasty…

  13. January 21, 2011 3:21 am

    Thank you so, so much for sharing! I have to make this!

  14. February 12, 2011 3:00 pm

    This looks great! Will definitely give it a try.

  15. February 14, 2011 10:18 am

    The Vegan Project: Yes, please do! You can change the ingredients in so many ways, and it’s so easy to make.

  16. Stephanie permalink
    March 8, 2011 8:44 pm

    I picked up a jar of the soy-free today ($10.49 @ Alaska prices- ouch!!!) and the ingredients are expeller pressed high-oleic safflower oil, filtered water, brown rice syrup, apple cider vinegar, pea protein, sea salt, mustard flour and lemon juice concentrate.

    I think it’s the pea protein making the difference.

  17. Crissy permalink
    May 14, 2011 12:55 pm

    Made it with almond milk and it worked wonderfully. Next time I’m going to use a different oil but it’ll be real yummy tonight with artichokes!

  18. Patrick permalink
    August 22, 2011 10:42 pm

    Oh. My. GOD.

    My mom buys me vegenaise (I know, spoiled brat!) but our local Wegmans stopped carrying it temporarily. I’ve been going through withdrawal for a month or so. I gave up on trying to make my own because I always failed, but I just recently bought a commercial blendtec (aka debatably the most power blender on the market) and I gave it a try once more. Mind you, I’m not *really* saving money, considering I spent 450 on a blender ;).

    Phenomenal though…tastes just like the real thing.

    I was expecting it to fail so I used canola oil, so I didn’t waste a few dollars worth of EVOO. My only complaint in doing so was that it came out slightly waxy. Otherwise, it is an exact replica.

    Thank you thank you thank you!

  19. val burke permalink
    August 23, 2011 5:30 pm

    wow. i am so excited to try this. i really need a new blender, so i will wait till i have a good one to do it. i just spent 8.39 on a jar of vegenaise. i could cry, but we love it. very hopeful………… val.

  20. Aradia permalink
    September 7, 2011 2:10 am

    I love the consistency.. Very much reminds me of vegenaise.. However when i first taste it all i can taste is oil.. Its like a mouth full of oil. I did everything right.. I dunno how i stuffed it up.. It is very bland and just oil tasting .. i tried more seasonings but the oil taste is just like a punch in the face.. I will try again tho as i love the texture.

  21. September 19, 2011 12:31 pm

    thank you so much for posting! Veganiase is so expensive I rarely can afford it.

  22. Jessie permalink
    October 4, 2011 1:49 pm

    i tryed this with soy milk it never thickend 😦 why? any ideas please help!

  23. Wholistic permalink
    October 22, 2011 2:08 am

    WOW! This is ridiculously easy to make! I had just purchased Almondie’s almond milk and it was perfect for this recipe! 🙂

  24. November 13, 2011 6:03 am

    regular home made mayo tastes really oily if it doesn’t have enough salt and vinegar/lemon juice in it. If it didn’t thicken, Jessie, you probably didn’t add the oil slowly enough.

  25. Jill C permalink
    March 9, 2012 6:40 am

    Hi! Your comment about “if you cant use this much in a week” does that mean it only lasts a week in the fridge? I dont think I could use up even half in a week!

  26. Jill C permalink
    March 9, 2012 8:49 am

    I made this today and its ok, my problem is that I am not thrilled with Olive oil. The taste just doesnt make me happy as say.. sesame oil does….. Anyone try it with any other oil??

  27. March 13, 2012 6:16 pm

    This looks delicious! I have been jonesing for mayo, but I haven’t wanted to buy a jar of it. Can’t wait to try it!

  28. Antoinette Mares permalink
    March 20, 2012 8:51 pm

    Okie dokie just made this…I live on a small island and am not able to get things like Vegenaise but if I could I surly would buy it…trust me all when you live were I live we sometimes pay up to 10 dollars on lettuce! I learned in life some things you can count pennies on. Now that said I did try this recipe…unfornutaily could not find the dry mustard to I opted for a little fresh in it…not sure what Vegenaise tast like but my recipe is tasting very olive oliish…added garlic helped some and more vinegar. The thing is Im making this because I need to have something that is compatible with my dosha since I am so out of balance. All the ingredients in this seemed to fit the critiria. The constancy is nice and well I guess If I am using this in a salad as I was going to attempt to go then it may just be fine but Im still not sure if the flavor is growing on me…any suggestions?

  29. May 10, 2012 12:18 pm

    Can you make this with coconut oil and almond milk? I know that’s not exactly “mayo” but it sounds like something delicious…

Trackbacks

  1. Spicy Vegan Potato Salad | Earth Eats - Indiana Public Media
  2. Sjokolade cupcake,Couscous med frukt & Hjemmelaget majones. | Zen of Carita's Blog

Leave a Reply

