Skip to content

An appetite for something new

December 31, 2010

Recently the idea popped into my head that on January 1st, 2011, I would go gluten-free for 30 days.  All the baking and cooking and over-indulging this past month ended up with me eating so much wheat that my body simply rebelled and said, “No more!”

Surprisingly, I’ve been less excited than apprehensive about this idea.  I don’t know that I really have any wheat issues (when I don’t eat it at every meal , that is).  And I’m not so keen on the idea of a pizza crust, for instance, being made from rice/potato/tapioca.  Although I found this excellent guide to vegan gluten-free baking, the writer’s description of bread dough being like “…a thick cake batter; you spread it with wet hands or [a] spatula,” didn’t really help me feel excited about my new adventure.

Now sugar is something I can and want to cut out of my diet.  Although I’d love to snack on my mum’s massive fruitcake whenever I have the whim, my horribly upset stomach doesn’t seem to appreciate the sweet gesture.  And recent experiences with drinking too much black tea (as in 4 to 6 cups a day) have shown me that caffeine is not something my body wants to tolerate anymore either.  This means giving up black and green tea (and coffee) for good.

It may just be a better idea for me to reduce the amount of wheaty goodness in my diet instead of being all radical and cutting it out entirely.  And this makes me quite happy.  Honestly, the idea of having to forego the Fig/Wild Rice/Cranberry Field Roast en croute at tomorrow’s dinner and face cooking without so many of the things I love (oats, spelt, kamut, barley, rye, soy sauce, etc.) seems, for me anyway, like deciding to jump off the stern of the Queen Mary II without a life jacket.

Appetite for Reduction - Isa Chandra MoskowitzIn addition to eschewing sugar and caffeine I will be starting out the year with Isa’s new book!   I also got the new books by the folks at Veganopolis, as well as Kelly Peloza’s new cookie book, and Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s Colour Me Vegan.  While I am excited about them all, I was particularly interested in Isa’s book.  I’ve read through the whole book twice now, and I have had thoughts about making many of the recipes in January and posting pictures from all of them.  This seems like a better idea than going gluten-free, though thankfully Appetite for Reduction is loaded with gluten-free recipes.

As is obvious with my recent cinnamon bun recipe, I tend toward being overly complicated when it comes to cooking and baking (though often with delicious results).  This usually leads me to not want to cook dinner at all and just scrounge for the first ready-to-eat thing I spy.  I’m hoping that instead of spending up to an hour and a half in the kitchen on weeknights, Isa’s new book will have me spending way less time cooking and more time eating tasty, healthy food (and hopefully with less dishes too!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 11:09 am

    Gluten- and sugar-free twins! I know of three others who are doing a gluten- and sugar-free experiment starting tomorrow – we can be some great support for one another. It makes me happy to hear the AFR has a lot of gluten-free recipes – I’ll have to pick that up because, well, I’m addicted to cookbooks 🙂

    Much luck!

  2. January 2, 2011 8:54 am

    Happy New Year!

    Cutting out caffeine, sugar and lessening gluten – your lucky, lucky body…

  3. January 3, 2011 6:36 am

    I’m in the midst of a gluten-free love affair with Cybele Pascal’s Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook. My family is switching out ~80% of the wheat we’ve been consuming and probably 75% gluten by year’s end. Should be interesting!

  4. January 7, 2011 12:22 pm

    I just bought Isa’s new cookbook for one of my girlfriends but before I gave it to her I looked it over quite thoroughly. I need to go pick a copy up for myself.
    I get the whole sugar thing, we are going to cut out sugar and do somewhat of a detox next week-month.

  5. January 12, 2011 6:02 pm

    Yay! You can do it! And the cookbook is rad. I bought a copy for my mum because it’s also perfect for recipes that make small amounts for one person.

    The sugar thing is tough, and it’s been a huge struggle to not cave in, but I’m doin’ it. Just make sure to get rid of anything tempting in your house *before* starting out on a non-sugar mission. I speak from unfortunate experience 😦

  6. January 12, 2011 6:03 pm

    Oooh! Thanks for the tip! I will definitely check it out. And come knocking on your blog door if I have questions 🙂

  7. January 12, 2011 6:04 pm

    Yeah, but the brain’s not so happy about it. :\

    How’s the resolution on more tomato consumption coming?

  8. January 12, 2011 6:05 pm

    Thanks Michelle! I’ll wax poetic about the book on Saturday at dinner – while I nom on my sugar-free and wheat-free food 🙂

Leave a Reply

