Skip to content

Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake with Candied Cranberries

December 28, 2010
Vegan pumpkin cheesecake topped with candied cranberries
Photo courtesy of Stephen Hui

My mum made this jaw-dropping creating for dessert on Christmas Day – I dare say it’s one of the most perfect looking cheesecakes I’ve seen yet, vegan or not (and hers looked even better than the photo posted with the recipe, which you can find here).  It was so smooth and creamy, and it had that cheesy taste reminiscent of cream cheese (thanks to Tofutti!)  The best thing about this cheesecake was that it was so smooth and creamy, almost like a creme brulee.

And, like the recipe called for, my mum sat and punctured each cranberry you see on top of the cake several times, though with a big sterilized pushpin, not a needle.  Me?  I would have taken a shortcut and used dried cranberries soaked in a bit of cranberry juice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 4:24 pm

    I made a vegan pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving and used this recipe from Vegetarian Times Magazine for the candied cranberries for topping. I felt like a fool standing in the kitchen and puncturing each cranberry (2 cups) with a toothpick several times. It was too much work for no special effect, they looked like a cranberry jam at the end 🙂 I am sure that they would come out the same if I didn’t make holes in them…….The funny thing is that the recipe with the candied cranberries won a prize and I am trying to image the food editors and recipe testers making tiny holes in the cranberries for hours 🙂 I wonder if they just skipped the step…

  2. January 19, 2011 8:21 am

    Elisabeth:

    My mum wondered the same thing about the cranberries. She said she felt quite foolish sitting there poking every one of them, but she did it anyway. They tasted a little different than dried cranberries, since those are chewier and hers were moister.

    I’m not sure I would have had the patience myself. As for VT, I’ll bet they gave the task to an editorial assisant (having been one before, I know they get stuck with the grunt work.)

    I thought this recipe would be great as a lemon cheesecake. Maybe one day I’ll give it a try (minus the cranberries, of course!)

Leave a Reply

