Skip to content

Sincerely, Kombucha – Part 2

June 18, 2010
tags:

Weeks later, while vacationing in Portland, I’d spied bottled kombucha in cafes and we’d pass each other by, me gazing at the bubbly tea like a bashful schoolgirl with a crush.

Finally, we met.

It was an awkward first encounter.

My first sips were tinged with the essence of beer.  I loathe beer.

After a quarter of the bottle, the tangy, effervescent tonic began to taste like apple cider vinegar.  Mmmm.  Stinky socks.

After a whole bottle, I was still undecided.  I loved the light fizz it left on my tongue.  I didn’t so much like the little brown floaty things in my tea.

Perhaps I ought not to have started out drinking such a big bottle.  Bubbly tummy, a slightly heady sensation.  And a very faint feeling of being tipsy.

The next day my tongue announced to my mouth it wanted more.  No one was more surprised than me.  But I didn’t give in.

The day after that, I wanted another bottle of kombucha even more than I wanted a hot, sweet Earl Grey tea.  Yowza.

I found another bottle.  Again I was undecided.  I liked it.  I didn’t like it.  But I wanted it.

And so, much like my odd cravings for broccoli and beans – you know, stuff that’s good for you – I wanted more kombucha.

By now, I’ve made my way through 16 bottles of it.

I’ve mulled, I’ve dithered, and I’ve gushed about the Fairy’s Tonic.  Should I brew it myself?  How is the mister gonna feel about it?  Stinky, weird foodie stuff is not his thing.

Last Sunday, while attending a sewing class at the lovely Spool of Thread in East Vancouver, I pulled a bottle of kombucha out of my bag.

A small voice whispered behind me, “I see you drinking that kombucha, you addict!”

Yes, I have a problem.  And I did something about it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 8:43 pm

    I truly and sincerely hope that your batches of kombucha so feed that addiction of yours! 😀

  2. June 18, 2010 8:49 pm

    Hah! You just wait. I’ll find out what you have an addiction to. Maybe I’ll get you addicted to kombucha too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

