Skip to content

Black Bean Soup with Loads ‘o Veggies

April 21, 2010

Black Bean Soup with Loads o' Veggies

As usual, my mum finds a really good recipe that I would otherwise pass by. And, as usual, I can never follow a recipe exactly. I always have to tinker with them somehow.

Now, I’ve never been much of a soup person, and I don’t usually make soup unless it has lots of oomph. By oomph, I mean that it has to have something to it. Creamy soups don’t do a thing for me. So when I find a soup I like, I will go out of my way to make it.

This is an adaptation of another recipe, and you can see the original recipe here. Below is my version. This is the kind of soup that seems really simple, but it has a lot of flavour. And, it’s a very forgiving recipe. You don’t need to be exact with the measurements of the veggies, as you’ll see from my version of the recipe below. If you happen to really like a particular ingredient, go ahead and go bonkers with it. Oh, and like many soups, this one tastes even better the next day and is great with a hearty, thick bread.

Ingredients

2-15oz cans black beans, rinsed
1-14oz can stewed tomatoes (don’t drain them!)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
2 carrots, diced
1 zucchini, diced
1 orange yam, diced
1 head of broccoli, cut into small florets
2 cups frozen corn
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp chili powder (chipotle would add a nice kick)
4 cups vegetable stock
1 tsp olive oil

Directions

1. In a large pot, heat the oil over medium heat and combine all of the veggies, except for the corn, and sautee until tender but not too soft, about 7 minutes. Stir occasionally while sauteeing.

2. When the veggies are tender, add 1 can of the black beans, as well as the corn, cumin, chili powder, pepper, and vegetable stock. Turn up the heat to medium-high and bring the soup to a boil.

3. In the meantime, in a blender combine the second can of black beans and the can of stewed tomatoes and puree the mixture until smooth.

4. When the soup has come to a boil, add the tomato-bean puree, mixing the soup to combine, and turn the heat down to medium-low. Simmer the soup for 15 minutes, checking that the firmer veggies, like the yam and the carrot, are tender.

Makes 8-10 servings.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Martin permalink
    December 12, 2010 5:37 am

    Sounds great, but what happened to the corn?

  2. December 12, 2010 9:01 am

    Ooops! Sorry about that! Thanks for letting me know, Martin.

    I’ve updated the recipe to include the addition of the corn during cooking.

    Enjoy! 🙂

  3. Bill Wright permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:21 pm

    I made this today. It’s great! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

