Skip to content

On thoughts and words…

April 14, 2010

 

Robin bathing

"Singing in the Rain" by mindfulness on Flickr (CC-A licensed)

It’s been a bit of a quiet week here on Epicurvegan, and I thought that I would pop in so you don’t think I’ve abandoned ship.

The photo above of the robin taking a bath feels kind of like me. I’ve been going along in my days only to occasionally notice that I am being noticed.

It seems to be one of those times where there’s lots going on but much of it remains as thoughts in my mind and images that pass by my eyes. I’m definitely watching everything around me, but I find that I can put little of it into words. Well, except for today it seems.

Last Tuesday I started biking to work again. It was partly due to my stubborn refusal to pay $84/month for a bus pass to get me to and from work, which is less than 2 km away from my home. Mostly, though, the sudden leap back on to my bike was a result of my worries about my ever-expanding belly. I’m nearly early 30 lbs. heavier than I was this time last year. Two serious ankle sprains last spring left me in constant pain and unable to do anything but sit, sit, sit and hobble around as best I could when necessary. While I’m not completely pain-free, at least I feel a little normal again. This week, as my asthma settles down from the shock of biking, I find myself enjoying what it’s like not to feel like a hyperventilating, dizzy, I-need-to-puke-now mess when I arrive at work.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about eating habits. My eating habits, that is. In the last year I’ve consumed a crazy amount of fat without thinking much about it. I suppose it began during my first trip to Portland last May. I celebrated my glee over the awesomeness of that vegan food mecca by eating so much food even I was shocked. Many times in past months I’ve swept my concerns about my habits under the proverbial carpet as I indulged in not so healthy take-out and home-made food. Then, somehow, I realized that my out of control tea habit had me drinking two to three travel mugs of tea a day. This might not seem like a big deal until I say that one of my travel mugs is the equivalent of 3 teacups. You know, normal sized teacups. And I put about 1/2 cup of soy milk in each of those travel mugs. And then there’s the agave. Way too much agave. Translate these portions to the portions of the food I have been eating, and you see there is a problem.

Along with my penchant for way too much food comes a habit of spending way too much money on said food. So I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can get back to enjoying simple food. I have a tendency toward fancier things that cost a lot of money but are not very healthy and not at all necessary. Especially true when I don’t plan meals ahead of time, which happens a lot.

Then there’s my thoughts about plans with friends, places to travel, family to spend time with, crafty projects to make, taxes to avoid, laundry to ignore, housecleaning, and all that other stuff most of us are daydreaming about or muddling through each day.

What do you find yourself thinking about lately?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

