Skip to content

Feeling snuggly with cowls

March 30, 2010

Stockinette Cowl knit in the round

It must have been all the cowls I’ve seen recently in Google Reader and Etsy that got me going on my current knitting addiction. This here is my very first cowl, knitted on my very first pair of round needles. I must admit I found round needles very challenging at first and I’m not sure I prefer them to straight needles.

The yarn is Blue Sky Alpacas’ 100% organic worsted cotton yarn. I bought  it from Earth Friendly Yarns in 2008 at The Fiber Gallery in Seattle. This colour doesn’t seem to be on the Blue Sky Alpacas’ website, but it’s somewhere between Jasper (#636) and Caribbean (#630). The cowl used one 100 gram skein (137 m) of yarn, though I was sorely tempted to use both skeins I had.

Although it’s totally the wrong time of year to be starting a cowl knitting obsession, I have to admit it’s gonna take me a few cowls to get past my current obsession with them. On the bright side, come next winter I’ll have a gorgeous stash of cowls and perhaps a few more scarves to rediscover and brighten up dreary, rainy days. And after I get sick of cowls, it’s on to socks!

Below is my next cowl, using my own pattern that I’ve been attempting to knit for about 3 years now. It uses Berroco’s worsted weight Comfort nylon and acrylic yarn in Cadet (#9747). I’m trying to get away from using synthetic yarns, and luckily I don’t have very many skeins to get through.

If anyone’s interested in a tutorial on this checkerboard pattern, leave me a comment here and let me know. I’ve never written a pattern before, but there’s no better time to give it a try!

Checkerboard Cowl

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

