Skip to content

Another bake sale under my apron

March 13, 2010

Mel’s Jelly Donut Cupcakes, originally uploaded by Epicurvegan.

The Vancouver vegan bake sale for Chile has come and gone, and it was another amazing success! We raised nearly $1,500, which will be matched by a corporate donation, bringing the total to about $3,000! We’ll be donating the funds we’ve raised to Medecins Sans Frontieres/Doctors Without Borders.

Wanna see the photos? Check out the Vancouver Vegan Bake Sale Flickr group for pics from both this bake sale and the Haiti bake sale held on February 4th.

I would like to send out a heat-felt thanks to all of the amazingly generous and talented bakers that contributed their precious time and resources to this event. At risk of sounding really sappy, I must say that it has been really touching and humbling to see the ways in which we can come together to create a community based on helping others half a world away.

I also would like to recognize Radha Yoga and Eatery for their endless generosity. The people at Radha are so kind and so giving I’m at a loss to find words better than “thank you” to tell them how very much their help and their loving spirits are appreciated.

I’m still recovering from a bit of a sugar coma, and I think it might be a long time until I recover enough to actually like the taste of chocolate again. I’d vowed not to make myself sick this time with testing the things I made. No such luck. But what kind of baker would I be if I didn’t taste what I made?

It’s such an odd thing to be surrounded by tables loaded with vegan treats I would otherwise go bonkers over but not really want a single thing. Normally, walking into a place and not having to not be at all concerned about what’s vegan or not is such a treat. I think just once I would like to not bake for a sale so I can indulge rather than walk away with nothing.

That said, I have a great post for Scrumptious Sunday ready to go up for tomorrow. Trust me when I say you’re gonna be all over this one – I’m posting a peanut butter swirl brownie recipe adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies cookbook. These treats were among the first things to sell out at the bake sale last night.

Enjoy your Saturday, everyone! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 3:44 pm

    “Jelly donut cupcakes” may be the best 3-words ever combined.

Leave a Reply

