Skip to content

Scrumptious Sunday: Giant Raisin Bran Muffins

March 7, 2010

Jumbo Raisin Bran Muffins

Today wasn’t as scrumptious a Sunday as it could have been. I had such good hopes for these muffins. But they were just not meant to be.

I grew up eating the mix-in-a-paper-sac muffins from the grocery store, and I still like them best. Nothing I’ve made at home comes close. So the search for a good bran muffin recipe continues. The recipe for these muffins came from The Joy of Vegan Baking, and while it could be a good recipe, I think there’s just way too much bran. Two and a half cups, in fact.

Where did these muffins go wrong? From the picture they don’t look so bad. But I decided I didn’t want the little muffins most of us make. Nope, I had to have big muffins. Last October I bought a jumbo muffin pan thinking it would be easy to make muffins as big and delicious as those from Urban Herbivore in Toronto that I so covet. Somehow, my muffins never seem to rise very much. They end up being quite heavy and dense. And so it was with these muffins.

Even with 10 extra minutes cooking time (25 minutes total) and the muffins on the verge of burning, the tops still weren’t cooked all the way through. And I did use a toothpick. It came out clean. But my first bite revealed very much undercooked spots in their tops.

And just how do soft, dried raisins cooked in muffins end up with a wee crispness like fresh grapes? I don’t know, but I’ll never again use large raisins in anything. Believe me, it was the most unexpected texture.

I also used home-made oat milk in the muffins. I’m still ironing out how to not have my milks be as thick as they are. Although I thinned the oat milk out, I’m not sure the starch in it helped the muffins as much as it made them heavier.

Perhaps I should stick to normal sized muffin and be content with them. After all, it would be better for my waist-line.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

