Skip to content

365 Inspirations: Roasted Garlic

March 4, 2010

Roasted Garlic

It wasn’t my intention to post every single 365 Inspirations photo I take. But like yesterday’s photo, it seems like this photograph of roasted garlic needed to be here.

For some time now, cooking a meal from scratch every night has seemed such a daunting task to take on. I once was able to come home after a day at work and spend an hour to an hour and a half cooking a meal and not mind the time it took to do this. Now it seems that spending such a long time preparing dinner takes up too much of my free time. And this is disappointing because I really do like to cook.

Cooking can be a creative process for me in a way I think might be similar to the process many designers, painters, sculptors, and crafters experience in creating the things they make. I love to read cookbooks for their techniques like some people read a book with a gripping plot. I’ve even had dreams at night about constructing new recipes using aspects of several different recipes from various books or websites and blogs.

Lately I’ve not been the most healthy vegan. And I know better. But it’s just as easy to give into eating takeout or convenience foods like it is for anyone else. After all, there really isn’t anything you can’t buy a pre-made vegan version of. And my habit of tending toward more extravagant of grocery items and recipes doesn’t help me.

I took this picture of garlic I had roasted because I want it to remind me of just how good simple can be. I don’t need to boil, bake, sautee, or roast multiple items for one dinner or extract half the food from my fridge to make just one dish. I want this picture to inspire me to enjoy simpler, healthier food.

If you would like to follow my 365 Inspirations project, check out the Epicurvegan Flickr feed here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 10:17 am

    Roasted garlic, yum. As fellow lovers of cooking and baking there is nothing better than enjoying food in it’s whole form. No added oil, just enjoying food on it’s own. Like taking a bite of a really ripe tomato. I liked the post! It is inspiring and with spring and summer on it’s way I think it’s easier to cook lighter anyways.

  2. March 7, 2010 11:03 am

    Thanks! 🙂 I often forget how lovely the creaminess of roasted garlic is. And since I need to start cutting down the fat in my diet, this could be a nice alternative to Earth Balance. And the kinds of spreads that could be made with roasted garlic seem endless.

Leave a Reply

