Skip to content

365 Inspirations: Shallot Skins

March 3, 2010

Shallot Skins

Since this blog is both a food and craft blog, it seems that this photo is doubly appropriate to include here.

One evening several months ago, as I was peeling yellow onions for dinner, I was wooed by the pearly peach-gold lustre on the inside of the dried skins and saw that onions had a stunning hidden beauty I’d always overlooked.

Imagine for a moment what works of beauty these skins could help create if we simply stopped throwing them away and used them in pieces of art.

Tonight the sparkling rosy-mauve hues of the shallots I was peeling for dinner caught my eye, and I just knew I had to press them between the pages of a book to dry and use.

These shallot skins inspire me to see the beauty in things and people hidden just beneath their surfaces.

No comments yet

Leave a comment