Skip to content

Scrumptious Sunday: Gingerbread Scones and Strawberry-Cantaloupe Salad

February 28, 2010

Gingerbread Scones from The Joy of Vegan Baking

Since I hope to post a Scrumptious Sunday post every Sunday, I figured that the post below didn’t count for today. And, this post also lets me share with you one of my favorite baked things: Gingerbread Scones. These gingerbread scones are like a grown up version of soft gingerbread cookies with quite a bit less sugar. It’s like eating dessert for breakfast, without getting s finger-wagging from your mum.

I was never much of a scone person, especially when it came to scones coated in icing sugar. As a kid, I was offered them but they never really caught my attention and, of course, freshly made cookies were always favoured over scones. Then the day came when I cracked open a new copy of The Joy of Vegan Baking. Now most scones still don’t catch my attention, but I will happily break out every mixing bowl in my kitchen to make the scones you see here. Well, unless they happen to be scones with cheddar-style Daiya cheese. For those, I will travel 3 hours just to get the cheese.

Just a few notes about the recipe. First thing, these scones are very tender. And this is a good thing, but every time I’ve made them they’ve fallen apart quite easily. Cutting them in half reduces them to a heap of broken bits and crumbs. To remedy this, I’ve tried including a little tapioca starch in the dry mixture and it works very nicely by holding the cooked scones together a wee bit more. About 2 tsp. to 1 tbsp. of tapioca starch or flour should do. You can also try arrowroot starch/flour.

The second thing is that the recipe says the dough for the scones should be cut into wedges. This is never gonna happen. Although the recipe notes say to add a bit more flour to the mix if the scones are too wet, I’ve never been able to do anything but scoop the dough onto the baking sheet. But this is no big deal really. A good scone is a good scone, no matter what the shape.

The last thing is that if you’re out of milk you can use water in place of the milk. I did, and there was no noticeable difference in the taste or texture of the scones before or after they were baked. Also, using water cuts down on the amount of fat and sugar in the recipe as well, even if it’s only by a small amount.

To round out breakfast, I paired the gingerbread scones with my strawberry-cantaloupe salad, pictured below. I won’t share the recipe quite yet since I want to include it in my as-yet-to-be-named zine published through Spork and Foon Press. There’s a secret ingredient to the salad that you can’t see here but is so obvious and delicious once you’ve had a mouthful of the salad.

Have a lovely Sunday, everyone!

Gingerbread Scones with Cantaloupe-Strawberry Salad

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

