Skip to content

Manicotti love

January 20, 2010
Mum's vegan manicotti

Mum's vegan manicotti

Over this past week the idea of blogging about anything other than Haiti has left me feeling that anything else I could talk about would only be self-aggrandizing.  But that’s just how I feel for myself.  To talk about myself or anything I’m interested in just feels really selfish. So I will talk about Haiti – in another post.  First, I must also someone else.

That someone else would be my mother (hi mum!).  She’s fabulous, 59, and went vegan just over two years ago.  It’s been a struggle for her at times. We all have our own journeys, they’re all as different as each of us is different, and I am very proud of her.  So it was in a flurry of well-deserved happiness she called me on Sunday night asking me to check my e-mail for a surprise.  And there you see it, at right.  A picture of glorious vegan stuffed manicotti.  Cheesy stuffed manicotti.  Browned on top.  Oh muh gawd!  She promised to make some for us.  I plan to wear extra stretchy pants to hide my overly full belly.

The recipe is a modified version of the stuffed manicotti recipe from 500 Vegan Recipes, which my equally fabulous partner gave her for Christmas.  If you don’t have this book, borrow it, buy it, pilfer it from your best friend’s bookshelf and promise to make one of Celine’s bread recipes to make for tasty amends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 21, 2010 6:50 pm

    Aww, thank you Sweetie!! :o)

Leave a Reply

