Skip to content

Baker’s Twine on the Cheap

January 1, 2010
Red and White Baker's Twine

Red and White Baker's Twine

You know that super cute bakers twine popping up everywhere in the DIY world? The stuff you see in Martha Stewart holiday magazines and all over eye-candy craft blogs that’s ridiculously expensive?  On Etsy, some vendors are re-selling 30 yards/90 ft. cards and spools for nearly $4 (plus taxes and shipping). I love the stuff, but good luck finding it for cheap or finding it in stores at all.  Fancier suppliers hip to the stringy trend have created some neat looking color combinations in their twines, but for premium prices.  Personally, I prefer the red and white kind.

Thinking that there must be a cheaper supply of it, it didn’t take me long to find an online bakery and paper supplies company selling 2 lb. spools of it in no less than red, brown, dark green, light green, and blue for $8.95 per spool (again, plus shipping and taxes).  That’s more than 3,400 yards or 10,200 ft. of twine per spool.  Feeling quite gleeful about the awesome savings, I ordered two spools – one red/white and one light green/white.  So what the heck do you think I might do with so much twine?  Lots of stuff!  Gift tags, gift bag and box ribbons, hand-made greeting cards, gift card holders, ornament and mobile string, book marks, general household use, etc.  Plus, it’s biodegradeable and looks way cuter than plastic or nylon ribbon.

If you wanna get your mitts on some, check out Country Clean Paper Supplies and try not to go too twine crazy.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 9:06 am

    How cool! Thanks for doing the research for us! Happy 2010!

  2. January 17, 2010 8:48 am

    thank’s for the hint..!!! and compliments for your blog..!

  3. maggie permalink
    January 30, 2010 11:58 am

    I just came across your blog for the vegan yumminess and got the bonus of a baker’s twine resource! Thank you so much!

  4. March 7, 2010 11:08 am

    The twine is great, and I hope everyone gets what they’re looking for. I get a lot of hits on my blog from this post, and is this twine ever popular!

    I have to admit the light green twine is not as thick as I would have liked, though the red twine is just fine. if you order a cone of the twine, beware – these cones are BIG. Unless you use it a lot – and by a lot I mean every day – you’re going to have this stuff for a loooooong time.

    You know how some recipes call for twine to be used to tie something up? This stuff will work just as well as the uber expensive white and unbleached kitchen twine that’s crazy expensive.

    Enjoy everyone! 🙂

  5. April 26, 2010 9:15 pm

    Thanks for the post on bakers twine. I’m thinking of using this for packaging/tag string in my handmade & vintage business. Great resource, thanks again!

  6. August 6, 2010 9:28 am

    Thank you for the link to the Bakers Twine. I appreciate you so much.
    ~a

  7. kristel wyman permalink
    August 26, 2010 10:43 am

    thanks for this! i’m about to order some now. the green one looks lovely, but because they call it “lime green,” i’m hesitant. is that what you got? the photo looks more martha stewart-y green, am i right?

    thanks!!

  8. October 19, 2010 12:15 pm

    Thank you so much for this post! I desperately need baker’s twine for crafty-things. You’re the best.

  9. Sara permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:15 am

    Check out Crate & Barrel, they sell a 5 lb spool of the red and white for $7.95

  10. November 4, 2010 9:59 am

    The crate and barrel website sells a (0.5 lb) for $7.95. Our website actually offers great pricing on 1/6 lb balls or bakery twine. It’s not as cheap as getting it in a 2 lb cone, but a lot better than paying for what most of these online ETSY charge you.

  11. November 11, 2010 6:01 pm

    I just ordered mine! Cannot wait to get it in the mail, thanks for sharing!

  12. November 18, 2010 11:34 am

    Thank you for posting this!! I have been searching local for bakers twine to add to my ornaments and though I was going to pull my hair out. Just purchased mine. Thank you again!

  13. November 28, 2010 9:26 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your source. You made my day!

  14. Sarah M. permalink
    December 3, 2010 11:57 am

    I ordered the lime green bakers twine and am VERY unhappy with the color. It is not a “lime” green…more of a plain regular green. I called to verify before ordering and was assured that this was a “true” lime green. It’s NOT!! I called the company and told them that I was unhappy and they basically said that I could pay to send it back. They did not offer to pay the shipping or anything. VERY UNHAPPY with this company. Do not buy from them if you want a “true” lime green.

  15. December 3, 2010 3:20 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Sarah.

    When I ordered mine and saw what it was actually like, I was happy that it wasn’t a true lime green because I really wanted the spearmint green I ended up with. However, the picture on their website doesn’t actually show lime green twine, and it’s been that way since last January.

    So, as Sarah suggests, be warned – the “lime” green twine is more of a medium green shade.

  16. January 8, 2011 10:29 am

    Oh boy! Thanks for the tip! I’ve been looking for a cheaper source for twine–can’t believe how expensive it is many places–even amazon! Thanks again!

  17. January 18, 2011 3:13 pm

    Thank you so much for the link. You like most us have the google round up with little cheap luck…so thanks for sticking with it and finding this great resource!

  18. Judy permalink
    February 14, 2011 11:45 pm

    thank you, thank you, thank you, for the tip!!!!

  19. July 6, 2011 11:12 am

    oh how lovely! sadly they dont seem to ship out of US. 😦

  20. July 11, 2011 11:57 am

    Palespectre:

    Acutally, they do ship to Canada, unless they’ve changed their policies since the last time I ordered the twine. I live in Canada, and I was able to order the twine.

  21. Lesley permalink
    December 1, 2011 3:46 pm

    Just got my shipment in the mail and it is so thin and flimsy I am returning them all. Sooooo sad. Must be made in China 😦 I guess you get what you pay for.

  22. Jessica Heath permalink
    May 3, 2012 3:11 am

    Cheapest and best selection is ebay ID rwh6683 – ships worldwide, over 50 colours to choose from and a fantastic price.

  23. Jessica Heath permalink
    May 3, 2012 3:15 am

    Lesley – I fear you have bought from wesellcoffee – that is really thin and not very well made, I too, returned mine – the ebay ID above (rwh6683) supplies 4-ply 100% biodegradeable cotton, relatively thick and VERY good quality. I have bought over 380 yards (sells in meters as well) and will supply ANY quantity (1inch to anything – 1000 meters if you want that much, lol). Very helpful with any queries and a good feedback rating, so I felt confident buying from them.

Leave a Reply

