Skip to content

Comfort Food: Broccoli Miso Sauce

October 15, 2009

3930562108_a83ba92621_o

Updated: September 5th, 2011

This is a recipe I’ve been making for a few years now on nights when I’m feeling very lazy and not too creative. It’s satisfying comfort food heaped on top of pasta, rice, steamed veggies, potatoes, or whatever else you can think of. and it’s well-suited to the cool fall weather. The Vegetarians in Paradise, based in Los Angeles, published the original recipe. Here are my notes on how I make it.

Broccoli miso sauce on rotini rice pasta.

Broccoli miso sauce on rotini rice pasta.

– I use 1/4 cup olive oil
– Using a flavoured vegetable stock in place of water makes this sauce even tastier
– I usually use only 3 cloves garlic since it remains raw in this sauce (using more, older garlic can make this sauce really overwhelming)
– Juice from 1/2 of a fresh lemon
– I add 2-3 tbsp mild brown rice miso

Also, I usually don’t pay attention to how much broccoli I’m using, which means sometimes I need to add a little bit more water.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 5:20 pm

    Oh, lord, this sounds absolutely delicious. Definitely adding it to my “cook this soon, please” list!

  2. October 17, 2009 7:06 am

    Yes. Yes, it is 🙂 It’s once of those recipes that doesn’t sound like a whole lot or even interesting, until you make it that is. I was looking for a different way to prepare broccoli since I was getting pretty tired of my usual standbys – steaming and sauteeing. It’s a very quick recipe and a super easy way to get your greens.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Recipe Roundup | The Messy Vegetarian Cook

Leave a Reply

