Skip to content

Giant muffins here I come!

October 6, 2009

3930562108_a83ba92621_o

Updated: September 5th, 2011

Today I’m going to gush about my new kitchen toy: a giant muffin pan!

I think that most vegan chefs worth their cupcakes already knew about these pans. But it’s taken me a while to catch on. Back in 2006 in Toronto, I discovered the giant date and yam muffins at Urban Herbivore in the Kensington Market.

Chicago Metallic's giant muffin pan.

Chicago Metallic's giant muffin pan.

I was in awe of the giant muffins Urban Herbivore made. Giant is even an understatement. Their muffins are so big and dense you could eat half for breakfast and be full until lunch. But I often wondered how they got their muffins so big.

Then, a few weeks ago, while in a Vancouver-based kitchenwares store called Ming Wo, I found an industrial kitchen muffin pan by Chicago Metallic.

Tonight I made the pumpkin muffin recipe Isa posted on the PPK. It’s a great recipe, though it could use about 1/2 cup less sugar. And it’s totally not suited to giant muffins, though that’s what the recipe was designed for. The muffins are very moist, owing to the 1 cup of pumpkin puree in them. They don’t stand up so well on their own since their huge tops make them top-heavy. Besides this, I highly recommend these muffins. The flavour really hits the cozy spot this time of year.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 11:29 pm

    I have that pan! I should make some muffins.

  2. veganhomemade permalink
    October 7, 2009 9:09 am

    I’ve never thought about getting a giant muffin pan because I’m afraid giant muffins wouldn’t last long around me. It’d be good for baking for others though! Maybe I’ll look into getting one.

  3. Fat Fudge permalink
    October 8, 2009 10:26 am

    I bought one of those muffin pans at a restaurant supply store. It does a wonderful job of giving you muffins with a large crown (my favorite part). Be sure to grease your pan well, because batter will really stick if you don’t.

  4. October 18, 2009 8:26 pm

    You know, I’ve found that I don’t get very large muffins in this pan because most recipes I’ve tried result in muffins that are too dense to develop large crowns. I suppose using white flour would make this better, but I generally try to stay away from white flour. I’m not complaining though – this means lots of tasty experimenting 🙂

  5. October 30, 2009 9:14 am

    I totally agree about Urban Herbivore muffins, in fact I wrote about my love for them a couple of weeks ago on my blog. I have been trying to master their sweet potato date recipe for years. I come pretty close but there is something distinctly delicious about thier muffins.

  6. Ashley permalink
    April 15, 2010 6:46 am

    I googled “giant muffins” this morning just because of Urban Herbivore!! After looking at them though, it seems like they have a standard “stump” but a ginormous muffin top!! Maybe just extra baking powder?? Hmmm…

  7. April 15, 2010 7:22 am

    I don’t know what it is that they do to those muffins, but I have serious plans to find out. I don’t think it’s extra baking powder, because the muffins are so dense I’m not sure more baking powder alone would get them that big. I think it’s got to the kind of muffin pan they use, and I suspect it could be different from the pan I have.
    Anyway, I’ll be going to Toronto in about two weeks, and I plan to get as many of those muffins as I can carry back with me so I can crack that recipe. I’m also gonna have a chat with the staff and at least get a look at the pan they use.
    One way or another, I’m gonna figure those muffins out and replicate the recipe 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Giant muffins here I come! « Epicurvegan [epicurvegan.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  2. Scrumptious Sunday: Giant Raisin Bran Muffins « Epicurvegan

Leave a Reply

