Skip to content

Eat’n Veg’n Food and Recipe’s Samosa Soup

October 5, 2009

3930562108_a83ba92621_o

Updated: September 5th, 2011

I’ve never been much of a soup person. I never crave soup, and I definitely don’t eat it as an appetizer. And creamy soups just don’t do anything for me. I want my soups with a lotta chunk and texture; they have to be a meal that’s not going to leave me hungry in an hour. And there must be thick bread for dunking or crushed crackers on top.

Samosa Soup

Samosa Soup

But, for the second day in a row I’ve cooked a big pot of soup.

Recently, the idea of what a samosa would be like as a soup popped into my head. I’d never heard of it before, and I wasn’t so sure it would be easy to make. But lo and behold, the first result in a Google search for “samosa soup” just happened to be from a vegan blog: eat’n veg’n food and recipes.

You must try this soup. Seriously, it’s damn good. And it makes a lot of food with at least 8-10 servings.

As usual, I can never follow a recipe exactly. Here are some of the modifications I made to make eat’n veg’n’s soup even tastier:

  • I doubled the measurements all of the spices. In fact, I would even triple the measurements of the coriander, chili powder, and curry powder.
  • Lightly toast the dried spices in the pot before adding the oil and the mustard seeds. Toasting will bring out their flavours even more and give the soup a richer flavour.
  • I diced the potatoes, onions, and cauliflower so that the pieces are about the size of a dime.
  • I didn’t use light coconut milk. This soup really needs the depth of flavour that full fat coconut milk has.
  • I omitted the cilantro and cayenne entirely. I find cilantro can overwhelm the more delicate flavours in the soup and the heat from the curry, chili powder, and black pepper is perfect.
  • I didn’t use more than 2-3 tbsp lemon juice. More than this could make the soup tangy.
  • If you have an immersion blender, immerse it into the pot for 5-7 seconds to puree some of the potato and make the soup a little thicker. If you have a blender, remove about 3 cups of the soup and lightly puree it for a few seconds, then return the mixture to the pot. Be very careful not to burn yourself!
  • You may need to add a little more water than the recipe calls for (3 cups). I added 4 1/2 cups to make sure my veggies were covered and would cook properly.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 8:23 pm

    This looks freaking awesome! And sounds perfect for the chilling fall/winter season. I am definitely have to make my fiance make this for me. (Yeah, I’m a lazy jerk. Or a jerk who works 50 hours a week. Whichever.)

  2. October 5, 2009 9:37 pm

    Looks delicious, thanks for all the suggestions!

  3. October 6, 2009 1:18 am

    I’m an absolute soup addict. LOVE the stuff. I reckon you’ve totally got the soup bug.
    🙂
    This one looks amazing.

  4. October 8, 2009 5:59 am

    Holy Soup Spoon! I love soup and I love samosas!!! Genius, simply genius to combine them!!! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful idea 🙂

  5. October 13, 2009 5:27 pm

    Thanks for trying the soup! I’m glad you adapted to suit your tastes.

  6. October 18, 2009 8:28 pm

    Twas supper yummy! Got lots of interested glances at work 🙂

Leave a Reply

