Skip to content

Spork and Foon Press

October 2, 2009

3930562108_a83ba92621_o

Sarah Kramer started toward vegan superstardom by giving vegan cookzines zines she made to her friends and family for Christmas. Jae Steele‘s written some really nifty zines on herbalism and vegan food (some of which I’m very lucky to have bought from her at a zine fair in 2006 in Toronto). Kittee of Cake Maker to the Stars wrote Papa Tofu, for which a search on Google gets 179,000 results. And, as Reading Frenzy in Portland, Sweet Candy Distro, and Microcosm can attest, there’s definitely a keen interest in vegan zines.

I’ve decided to jump into the tasty fray and start on my own zine, because it’s one of the ways I can best use my skills to do something that will benefit animals and people alike. Except I’m not interested in making money for myself off of it or catapulting myself into vegan cookbook stardom. And I’m not so keen about the idea of using massive amounts of virgin or unrenewable resources to make zines or, for that matter, a cookbook. I want to create the biggest impact I can with my actions by creating as little waste as possible, and doing it all for no financial benefit to myself and by not using any corporate advertising.

And so Stephen and I have created Spork and Foon Press with the intention of keeping things simple. Here’s the deal: we create and publish a vegan zine with as much recycled material as we can, and then we match 100% of the proceeds made from the zine to an organization dedicated to helping animals and/or people. Kinda like paying it forward, ya know? And it’s our intention to follow this mandate of doing good for others with every idea we have tucked into our apron pockets.

Coming early 2010, Spork and Foon Press will be publishing an as yet unnamed vegan cookzine that will feature more than 40 recipes created in our little ‘ol kitchen- and every single penny made from the sale of the zine will go to Rest.Q Animal Sanctuary on Mayne Island, B.C., and Hearts on Noses Mini Pig Sanctuary in Maple Ridge, B.C. We’ll create some love and hopefully y’all will give some love, and together we can all spread a lot more love around.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 1:42 pm

    I love the name!! I’m quite the spork fan.

  2. October 2, 2009 2:55 pm

    What a great project. I look forward to your zine!

  3. October 2, 2009 4:39 pm

    Yeah, it was pretty funny coming up with the names, and it got quite silly when we started philosophzing about how sporks and foons are really the same thing. Hope everyone like the zine as much as the name 🙂

  4. October 2, 2009 4:41 pm

    Thanks, Joan! When all is said and done, we’ll be setting up shop on Etsy, but we’ll post updates on where things are and a more definite ETA.

Leave a Reply

